Awards & Prizes

The Frontenac, Lennox and Addington Science Fair awards over $20,000 worth of cash and prizes each year.

Category Awards:

Where appropriate, honourable mention, bronze, silver and gold awards will be given to the most deserving projects in each division: Primary (Grades 5,6), Junior (Grades 7,8) and Intermediate/Senior (Grades 9-12)

Within the categories of:

Best Of Fair Awards:

Best of Fair awards are given to five participating students in the Junior, Intermediate and Senior divisions who are judged to have presented the best projects in the fair. The Gold, Silver and Bronze winning students are invited to compete in the Canada Wide Science Fair in May with their CWSF registration, travel and living expenses (app. $1,500 value for each winner) fully paid for by FLASF. They are awarded Gold, Silver, Bronze and Honorable Mention plaques and the Gold, Silver and Bronze winners are also named on trophies. The Honorable Mention students are runners-up for the CWSF and will have the opportunity (all expenses paid) to go to CWSF if any of the trophy winners cannot attend.

Special Awards:

These prizes are provided by local and provincial organizations and businesses. They are awarded based on specific criteria established for each award and generally have a monetary value. You can see this year’s list at Special Awards.

Peer Award:

Winners of the Peer Award will receive a book prize provided by the Canadian Science Fair Journal.

Science Fair participants can browse each other's projects on Project Board. Please record the names of your favourite projects in the form below.

Click here to access the Peer Award form

There will be two (2) awards in the primary division, four (4) awards in the junior division (one for each category) and one (1) award in the intermediate/senior division. This is based on registration numbers for each division/category.